Frances publishes her first novel for adult readers, and launches a brand new series for readers who are just starting out…

The year 2016 saw Frances publish three novels, including Birds in the Air, her first novel for adults. As a longtime quilter and the host of a podcast on the quilting life, it’s no surprise that Frances decided to make quilting the focus of Birds in the Air. “There’s a rule of thumb for writers: Write the books you want to read,” she said. “I’m so happy whenever writers like Jennifer Chivavirini, Marie Bostwick and Sandra Dallas come out with new quilting novels — I wish more quilters wrote books! So it makes sense that if I love reading books about quilting, I should write one.”

Sam the Man & the Chicken Plan
Readers in Grades 1 to 4 now have a series from Frances written especially for them. These early Chapter Books follow Sam the Man, who needs to earn some money but is a bit young for most of the work other people do.  In Sam the Man and the Chicken Plan, Sam gets creative and end up learning about about chickens, and more than a little about his neighbor, Mr. Stockfish. The Bulletin for the Center of Children’s Books wrote of Sam the Man & the Chicken Plan: “The story has accessibility, charm, and gentle wit, and the subtle strokes of human dynamics are masterful.” Sam’s adventures continue in February 2017 with the publication of the second book in the series, Sam the Man and the Rutabaga Plan.

Trouble the Water
Trouble the Water is the sweeping tale of the friendship between a black girl and a white boy and the prejudices they must overcome in segregated Celeste, Kentucky, as the pair try to solve the mysteries surrounding a lonely old dog. And as Callie and Wendell’s search for the old dog brings them closer and closer to a lost cabin in the woods, the simmering prejudices of the townspeople boil over. Shelf Awareness calls Trouble the Water “…a spooky, slow-burning, multi-layered novel, with lively and pitch-perfect dialogue reminiscent of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird.”

Stayed tuned to see what Frances is up to next. Visit the Contact page to sign up for her occasional newsletter. What follows below is a linked list of her novels to date.

Standalone Novels for Middle Grade Readers

Dovey Coe (2000)
Where I’d Like to Be (2003)
Chicken Boy (2005)
Shooting the Moon (2008)
Falling In (2010)
The Second Life of Abigail Walker (2012)
Anybody Shining (2014)
Trouble the Water (2016)

The Secret Language of Girls Trilogy

The Secret Language of Girls (2004)
The Kind of Friends We Used to Be (2009)
The Sound of Your Voice, Only Really Far Away  (2013)

The Highly Scientific Notebooks of Phineas L. MacGuire

Phineas L. MacGuire… Erupts! (2006)
Phineas L. MacGuire… Gets Slimed! (2007)
Phineas L. MacGuire… Blasts Off! (2008)
Phineas L. MacGuire… Gets Cooking! (2014)

Sam the Man Series (Chapter Books for Early Readers)

Sam the Man & the Chicken Plan (2016)
Sam the Man & the Rutabaga Plan (2017)

Novels for Young Adults

Ten Miles Past Normal (2011)

Novels for Adults

Birds in the Air (2016)